Annual Tes School Awards 2017 Now Open for Entries

Schools placeholder image

Leading UK awards celebrating teachers and teaching will be the biggest and best yet

Entries are now open for the 2017 TES School Awards, rewarding outstanding practice and dedication within the teaching profession.

The awards are divided into categories, recognising the efforts of both individual teachers and entire schools. Those for individuals include English teacher or team of the year, maths teacher or team of the year, headteacher of the year and the lifetime achievement award.

The school categories include primary, secondary and alternative provision schools of the year. This year there will be a new award for the best use of education technology by a school and there is also an additional prize for the overall school of the year.

“We all know that teaching is sometimes a thankless job,” says Christian Seager, who – along with colleagues at Alcester Academy in Warwick – was recognised as part of the 2016 maths team of the year.

“It’s easy to think that what we do as a profession is just a job. But being at the Grosvenor House hotel in London and hearing all the nominees’ stories was tremendous, and demonstrated it was anything but.

“I had never attended an awards ceremony such as this before and I was quite simply blown away.”

Schools and teachers can enter for as many categories as they want. Entry is free, and open to both the state and independent sectors.

This year, there will be additional rewards for all those shortlisted. Nominees, along with their local MPs, will be invited to an afternoon tea reception in the Terrace Pavilion at the House of Commons.

The winners will be revealed on Friday 23rd June 2017 at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London.

Award categories

1.      Lifetime achievement

2.      Headteacher of the year

3.      Community impact award

4.      Collaboration award

5.      Bev Evans resource author of the year

6.      English teacher or team of the year

7.      Maths teacher or team of the year

8.      Science, technology and engineering teacher or team of the year

9.      International award

10.    Digital innovation/edtech school of the year

11.    Creative school of the year

12.    Healthy school of the year award

13.    Early years setting of the year

14.    Primary school of the year

15.    Secondary school of the year

16.    Alternative provision school of the year

17.    Overall school of the year

For full details of the Tes School Awards categories, click here.